What is family???

I love watching TV series.  I usually watch NCIS, Criminal minds, CSI (Las Vegas, though now its just CSI, Cyber Unit which I haven’t had the chance to watch just yet), Hawaii Five-0, Bones.  Last week, I’m on NCIS New Orleans.  This particular episode hit me.  It was a story about a a gay couple whose daughter was abducted.  Its not really about the action, the suspense, but how they are as a family.  Growing up we were taught that a family consist of a father, mother and siblings.  But as I grow up its all about the people who loves you unconditionally and deeply.

Let me give you a peak to mine.  Normally, as what society dictates, consist of a mother, father and children.  When I was growing up I have a mother, 2 dads and siblings.  No, my mom isn’t promiscuous, its just that certain circumstance lead to her being separated from her first husband.  But that’s not the end of it.  My stepdad (my mother’s first husband) had emphysema.  Though separated, they still live in the same house.  So when my mom met my dad, my dad knew of the situation but didn’t mind at all.  He took care of all of us, and yes even my stepdad.  It was not all fairy tale but we our house was full of love.  My mom and dad would work, while I stay with my siblings with my step dad.  I had convulsions , I usually have this epileptic streak every now and again when I was young.  My stepdad was the last face I see whenever I had those “moments” and his face is also the first face I see  whenever I come to.  That is love.  He’s not my real dad but he loves me and he’s there for me.  So you see, not all unconventional family is dysfunctional, sometimes those kinds of family is the best any kid could ever hope and pray for.  And I can truly say I am really blessed to be born into my family, though not perfect as how society sees it but it was all I ever need. Cheers to us with unconventional families!

 

4 thoughts on “What is family???

Add yours

    1. Yes it is, that’s why I think now no matter what happens I always have a memory that I can draw strength from and love that always makes me feel that I can do anything 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

submission to the Wolf

my experience in BDSM

Mother. Wife. Me.

Where life as a mom, wife, and being me is upside down, backwards, & turned all around.

Beholding Him Ministries

Grace, hope and Truth for each day.

Disabled and Doing It

You can still be a freak in the sheets

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Content of Cognition

My process of perceiving, thinking, reasoning & analyzing. From my experiences, you'll find universal truths. Hear my views on what's happening. You don't have to agree with my opinion, but know it exists.

Sheanne

A wee lass on a mission

Think Celestial

Learning to "Think Celestial" and to "feast upon the words of Christ"

Inked Thoughts and Midnight Monologues

A fluid state of being with a memorable trail, through a river full of thoughts I sail. Leaving the labyrinths of a chaotic world behind, it’s a journey through the jungles of my subconscious mind.

Strengths Life

be your greatness | StrengthsFinder

Moonwashed Musings

we see the same moon; you and I

kidscrumbsandcrackers

Kids - I`m like the old woman who lived in a shoe - Crumbs, my house is full of them - Crackers, Im slowly going

Who is Tomika M Brown Today?

A blog about living as a wife, mother, best selling author, education coach , speaker & motivator

The Head and Heart Blabbing..

Heart-o-fool with head-so-wise , both blah blah blahing

My World With Words

Pieces of the Whole

A Writer's Reflections

Perspectives of a thinker, booklover, and follower of Jesus

My Mixed Blog

Short stories, everything outdoors, SCI recovery, my lifetime experiences, humor.

#Life begins at #storyteller

jdgoswami- #storyteller

Tai

Business, Businesses,

Shallowguy's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Expedition Hobo

don't just see the world, see yourself in it

Wanderlets

~the travels of Evelyn and Steve

Ann Writes Inspiration

Writing from the Heart adds value to your life.

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht zum Nachkochen

Poetry Out West

Poetry & Prose by Jodine Derena Butler

Ancestral Writing in Progress

... stories of significant others in the Allery, Cutting, McCulloch and Robertson tribes ...

The World Beyond Sight

Words beyond vision...

The Royal Travelers

In passion, lies beauty.